Welcome to the Faculty of Basic Medical and Applied Sciences

Ag. Dean – Dr. M. C. Adetunji

Dr Modupeade Adetunji

I welcome you to the Faculty of Basic Medical and Applied Sciences. The faculty houses six Departments and nine programs; Biological Sciences (Microbiology, Biology and Biotechnology), Chemical Sciences (Industrial Chemistry), Computer and Information Sciences (Computer Science and Information Technology), Medical Laboratory Science, Nursing Sciences and Physics with Electronics. The programs lead to award of Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) except for Medical Laboratory Science that award B.MLS degree.

The Academic Handbook contains details of prescribed courses and other specific requirements for all programs offered in the Faculty at the undergraduate level. It is intended to provide precise information to students, parents and everyone that are interested in the academic programs of the Faculty. The curricula of the programs are carefully designed to equip our students with necessary skills to compete with colleagues in their field in the different part of the world and also to emerge as leaders in their chosen disciplines and solution providers in areas of their future endeavours.

The Faculty is blessed with competent and committed lecturers, administrative and technical staff. The crop of these experienced lecturers and other faculty members in addition to conducive environment, have always placed the faculty in an enviable position among the best. In addition, our laboratories are equipped with the state-of-the-art equipment for hands-on practical experience in the various field of study.

All the programmes are accredited by the National Universities Commission (NUC).